PDA

View Full Version : Avoidance and gemming question

Aegis
10-17-2009, 06:17 PM
Hello everyone! I'm new to tanking(been playing holy until now), and I finally got a decent tanking set. As so, I got some questions that have been bothering me and came here to see if someone experienced could help.

First one, do mobs have a "natural" 5% chance to miss? If so, should I take this is an extra avoidance value?

Second, the 5,x% chance the mobs gain to miss me when I'm def capped are considered avoidance?

Third, which gems should I take/switch?

Armory: The World of Warcraft Armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Khadgar&n=Aegie)

Thanks in advance ;D

Mert
10-17-2009, 09:26 PM
1. Yes and yes
2. Yes
3. Enchant your cloak to Armor or Defense, enchant Chest to Defense, Stam to Bracers, the non-crap leg enchant on legs, Defense on Shield and one of {Accuracy, Mongoose, Blade Ward, Blood Draining, Agility} to your weapon. Until your gear is enchanted, there's no real way to say exactly which gems to switch. As a general rule, have Agi/Stam in red sockets, Def/Stam in yellow sockets, straight Stam in blue sockets and only match socket bonuses of +9 Stam or higher. It'll be easier to give more specific advice once you're properly enchanted.

Aegis
10-17-2009, 09:49 PM
Ok, i'll look it out.. thx for the tips( I know bout the chants, but I'm broke atm lol)

Zothor
10-19-2009, 11:16 AM
As a note, "avoidance" and "gemming" should basically never be in the same sentence for a paladin tank for general maintanking purposes.

A paladin tank really only has five acceptable gemming stats

Stamina

Defense
Hit rating

Agility
Strength