PDA

View Full Version : How to hold aggro

Teggon
10-06-2009, 09:47 PM
Ok I'm very new to tanking but healed enough tanks on my priest to get the basics. So I rolled a Warrior on Jubei'Thos and followed some guides to be ready for my first instance run. Everything had been fine so far where there aren't a lot of mobs but when I did CoT (Strathholme) or Old Kingdom, things went to poo.

I loose control of the adds and the healer generally gets smacked. I thunderclap and shockwave all the time. Generally though I find I'm miss timing these so when a mob appears my TC or SW is on cooldown.

Can anyone offer any advise on what they think I may be doing wrong or how I can improve ?

Squeegiemama
10-07-2009, 01:21 AM
Try to do as much as you can to minimize the damage you take. The less damage you take the less threat the healer will build up.

Make sure you are throwing up Shield Block and Demo Shout. That should keep the damage down a little bit to allow you to generate some threat on the mobs.

Mooma
10-07-2009, 01:24 AM
It helps to tab+smash cleave button too, and if you want to focus in aoe tanking, you have the cleave glyph that strikes an extra mob ;)

Xianth
10-07-2009, 02:23 AM
Some "obvious" things but worth mentioning if it's your first time tanking heroics etc.

- Use namplates (press V) and cycle through mobs single target as well as using cleave + tclap + sw. Still try to use shield slam & revenge on your first target if there are people single target dpsing too.

- Use glyph of cleave if you're doing heroics, a lot of packs come in 3 so it's easy threat on them all.

- Avoiding getting mobs hitting you from behind, extra damage from unavoided hits = extra healing = extra healer aggro.

- Vigilance your healer if you do miss a mob, so if they get hit you get you're taunt refreshed. If a dps keeps pulling aggro then stick it on them.

- Make sure you have 535 (for heroics) defense or close enough to avoid getting crit