PDA

View Full Version : Long post, lots of questions

titanstout
08-27-2009, 11:56 PM
Hi,

I'm new to being a warrior. Hit 80 on 8/2/09 and have been running heroics a bit and 2 Naxx10 clears. Been Uld10 once up to Freya and that was it.

Plan on going to Naxx25 and then later back into Uld10. The reason for this is simiple: I'm not ready for Uld10. That content is a LOT harder than Naxx10 (obviously) and I really needed to learn more about raid tanking before taking on complicated fights.

I did tank Razorscale (with the MT), dps'd on XT, tank Kologarn's body, off tanked on Auriya (however she spells her name), and tanked the gauntlet on Thorim. Couple of things I noticed.

Certain mobs have to be taunted back and forth and on occasion my taunt fails as well as my CS. It really didn't matter because we got through it, but I found it annoying. So question #1: Should I carry taunt glyphs around for situations like that?

I've tried carrying a couple sets of glyphs around but it really gets expensive. I was carrying Cleave/SW for heroic trash and then carrying Revenge/Blocking for boss raid fights. I've been keeping Resonating Power at all times.

In heroics I lose threat to geared dps and I think most groups understand that. I just taunt back and they die pretty fast.

Is my expertise too low? I'm at 27 right now.

Is my dodge too low for Naxx 25 and Uld 10? I'm at 23.61 %.

I'm not clear on what avoidance stats matter more.

Seems to me Dodge #1, Parry #2, Blocking #3.

Is that right?

Also I've heard some fights call for avoidance, some block, others just straight up hit points. Can you help me figure out which stats I should focus on for different boss fights?

Like for example: I should get my avoidance really high for Patchwerk right?

On fights like KT I should focus on higher health due to the magical damage?