PDA

View Full Version : Please evaluate gems/chants/stats

Thundergnome
08-26-2009, 08:20 AM
Hello All,

Hoping to get some constructive criticism from some of the more experienced/knowledgeable warrior tanks out there.

After taking a long break from WoW I started playing in Wotlk about a month ago on what used to be my warrior alt in BC (previously I ran a mage).

At this point I have mostly badge/ToC5/H ToC5 gear which is all level 213+ I believe.

I had and still have the belief that avoidance tanking is better then just stacking stamina, hence I have been trying to keep a balance between EH and avoidance which has worked just fine leading up to the first few bosses in Uld10.

However, we attempted ToC10 and I just get hit VERY hard (on the Northern Beasts encounter) and it seems healers have a tough time keeping me up.
This is odd because I ran a ToC25 pug and we cleared the same encounter with me MT'ing it. Of course there were 2 healers spamming me.

Currently I have about 60-65% avoidance (I'm not in front of WoW now so not sure exactly what my exact chance to be missed is), 31k unbuffed HP (~38k raid buffed).

Please take a look at my armory and recommend any changes I should/need to make.

Should I swap out some gems for pure stam at the expense of dodge/hit/expertise?
Maybe I'm just still undergeared for ToC10? or perhaps the healer wasn't doing a very good job?
Armory Link

Thanks for the advice!

kroxix
08-26-2009, 08:56 AM
The new TOC Raid is a bit weird in terms of what type of tank you want to be. In Ulduar, it was all about stacking stam since bosses hit very hard - potentially one shotting you if you couldn't soak an unmitigated hit.

For the TOC Raid, I have yet to encounter a boss that deals enough damage to be notable - MAYBE getting 4 or more stacks of the debuff from Gormok. I've been wearing a set that keeps me Hit capped and Expertise capped. It seems like TOC is all about being a highly attentive, mobile tank while producing good threat.