PDA

View Full Version : Tank newbie.. Gear? Rotation?

darkarth
08-24-2009, 11:43 AM
Hi.. I am new to tanking and pretty much only ran 5man raids. I want to get to the next lvl. I have been MIA since February 09 so my gear and knowledge are dated. I respecced frost and hope I did an ok for a frost tank.

So my question is.. post 3.2 what should I be looking for as of gear and rotation and stats?

The World of Warcraft Armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Eitrigg&n=Darkarth)

No need for an elaborate guide .. just your opinions and help on reaching the magic 540 def #?

Myrddraak
08-24-2009, 12:37 PM
For starters i would run reg hol for the def trinket that drops. Then i would look at a gear list that flood the forums just google search for a tank gear list for heroics and run those instances until you can get them. i would buy all of conq gear as fast as possible and start with the neck. There are alot of upgrades you can get while running heroics look up that list and you should hit 540 easily
For your spec i would move the 2 points out of Scent of blood and put them into runic power mastery. You already have the frost talents for rp so you should have plenty. I would also use a single disease rotation which means you need the howling blast glyph and i would replace the death grip glyph with the ob glyph. If you go with the single disease rotation i would take the point out of epidemic and put it into virulence (since you are under the hit cap by alot) and i would also take the 2 points out of 2h weapon spec and put them into virulence because if your not hitting them than your not generating threat.

Myrddraak
08-24-2009, 12:41 PM
And for a single disease rotation it would look something like
HB,OB,bs,bs,OB,OB,OB. You want to make sure to keep your disease up by using howling blast every time it is off cd and make sure to use it when you get a rime proc. Also keep macro runestrike into every ability.
Hope you enjoy tanking

Musclebound