PDA

View Full Version : Am I really ready?

zaster
07-21-2009, 06:33 AM
I'm new to the tanking, and as I was going through heroic UP [and wiped many times on the third boss,] a DK told me that I'm not ready to tank heroics because he claimed the minimum health required is 25K. After reading many of the guides here I came to the conclusion that he has no idea what he's talking about, but I want to ask some of you more knowledgable players out there if I'm really ready to start tanking heroics.

Armory is down at the moment, but I have about 24.6K health unbuffed and 546 Defense, and I'm not positive but I think my dodge+parry is around 32%~. Hit and expertise is low, but Im working to get those sorted out.

AxLxExX
07-21-2009, 06:36 AM
Back whenever Wrath launched I was tanking heroics with 19k

You're fine. Tell him to shut up.

Silveronfire
07-21-2009, 07:38 AM
wipes on the third boss are usually caused by failure to avoid pound properly OR failure to organize the add waves OR people getting butt hurt on spikes (litterally)

the pound thing is mostly on you.....make sure to tank him facing away from the party and run straight through him when he goes to do that. if you even think its going to hit you, pop SW or pray for heals.

the adds.....well if the dps pull it, they tank it.

the spikes? tell them to move faster =)

gl....that boss is kinda annoying.

Varius
07-21-2009, 03:35 PM
I have tanked every heroic recently with stats like that and a fresh 80 healer with no wipes (well, except for a disconnect). We blow through them quickly, doing 4-6 per night.

In AN, our hardest time was against the first boss, definitely not the third.

zaster
07-21-2009, 09:44 PM
gah I actually meant the third boss on Heroic UP, although I did have some troubles doing AN since it was my first time doing it and I didn't control the adds very well, and the spikes, and the pound...

but we downed him after three wipes, though the belt didn't drop unfortunately.

Darkroman