PDA

View Full Version : How do I start Raiding?

Behomuul
07-07-2009, 10:41 PM
I started playing WoW relatively recently, and even more recently (last month or so) switched servers to Eredar, where a bunch of my friends are playing. I fell in love with the DK, specced frost, and am having a great time tanking the pre-80 content.

I think I'm on track as far as gear, stats, and professions go. I'm pretty knowledgable about the class, spend a lot of time reading about it on here and other places, stay up to date with the changes, blah blah blah. I'm currently level 77, and am thinking about post-80 content because I didn't want it to sneak up on me.

I looked into raiding guilds on the server. Most say (on their websites) they don't want DKs, some say they might take one Blood DK as DPS, but they'll consider exceptional cases only. I'd like to be an exceptional case, but I doubt once I'm geared for Naxx I'll be able to run it (at least initially) without a guild. So I'm looking for 3 pieces of opinion/advice from you guys:

1) How come guilds that say that they want prot warriors/paladins or feral druids not want DK tanks? Also why don't guilds seem to want DKs in general? (I'm not asking this to start a flamewar, I just want to understand the problem I'm working against).

2) As a newer player (coming in after Wrath, having no BC or Vanilla raid experience, just now hitting 80) is there any advice you can give me about finding a raiding guild?

3) Is the problem role-related? Would I be better off starting out as Melee DPS and then switching into tanking?

Uhhh, sidenotes that I guess are worth mentioning are that I don't want to switch servers/factions, my friends who play on the server and I are all in the same guild and while some of us want to raid, there's just not enough of us to do it anyway and no one really wants to be the raid leader.

Thanks for your time and responses, and sorry if this was posted in the wrong place.

Hadj
07-08-2009, 01:00 AM