PDA

View Full Version : A few (mostly prot) warrior questions.

Ninjatoaster
06-23-2009, 08:40 PM
Ive been playing wow on and off for about 4 years now, always as a hunter. Recently i leveled a warrior to 80 with the Recruit-a-friend program, (since im not such a big fan of leveling) which i, for the most part, regret. Ive always been Protection, from level 10 to level 80, and don't get me wrong i love Off-tanking for my guild, but as an off-tank, i often feel useless on some boss fights where there is only one target that needs to be tanked. (like loatheb for example) I fell i would be a lot more useful to my guild if i were able to slap on some dps gear and start slamming faces. BUT, like i said, ive been in defensive stance since level 10! so Ive got a few questions on warrior dps, as well as some basic tanking questions. Any advice is greatly Appreciated! (please assume i know nothing! Ive only been 80 for about a week!)

-Arms or Fury?
As cool as crying around 2 giant weapons looks, it seems that fury is all about cleaves and Whirlwinds. As if, the more targets a fury warrior is attacking, the more dps he pulls. But since the only reason i am going dps on boss fights is because there is only one target and thus nothing for me to off-tank, will i be able to pull ample dps on a single target?
As where in arms, you use more slams and rends and basically single target dps

Whichever is best, could you also post or link a basic dps rotation? i understand i wont be pulling 4.5k dps, but id like to pull as much as possible!

-Resilience
I under stand becoming un-critable is a must for a tank for any kind, so getting to 540 def for raiding is defiantly a priority, but can resilience also contribute to becoming un-critable? Not that i would be running around tanking in full pvp gear, the only resilience gear i would have is the stam/resilience shoulder enchant that can be purchased with honor.

-Im not a Paladin!