PDA

View Full Version : New to Tanking Need Tank Master's advice

gavinski
06-19-2009, 07:48 AM
Hi All

firstly i have been playing wow for around 8 months but most of that was on my rogue character. i created a DK and have leveled him to 80 and have mostly a blood spec 57-5-9 i have asked to be the main tank in my guild but feel real uneasy about doing it.

1) have i got the right specs ?? is frost or unholy better
2) have i got the right gear what do i need to do to improve gear enchantments etc
3) what Combo's do i use for tanking HC's i did utgarde keep hc last night and felt i stuggled to keep the aggro.

i dont want to let my team down as does anyone i might sound stupid but i find tanking hard.i have read some of the threads in here allready about tanking as blood but as everyone has different gear talents etc its a bit confusing if someone cant spend a little time explaning and telling me what to do right ill feel confident to carry on tanking thanks again guys hope to hear from someone soon here is my character on WOW Armory

The World of Warcraft Armory (http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Daggerspine&n=Skullhorn)

Berzerker
06-19-2009, 07:56 AM
step 1: get uncrittable. In heroics this is at 535 defense, or 540 for 10/25 man raids. Start with http://www.tankspot.com/forums/f97/41986-cider-s-easy-540-defense-gear-guide.html

gavinski
06-19-2009, 04:19 PM
ok i am now uncritable with 535 def i think i have the right gem's on but i found it hard to get to the 535 i have a couple of epics i cant even wear because when i do the def drops :( i have icebane girdle and staggering legplates which r left in my bags but now i have done this what other info can you give a starting tank ? any chance someone can have alook at my armor / talents and combos to use ?

Adonae
06-19-2009, 08:14 PM
The information you're asking for is detailed in various guides already, read through the material.

Kurtosis
06-20-2009, 10:38 PM