PDA

View Full Version : Least gear-dependant starter DK spec?

Angrakhan
06-19-2009, 06:14 AM
Hi,

I just got back into WoW after taking a break for over a year. I used to offtank in MC (pre tbc) as a warrior, but the DK class really caught my eye. Anyhow, I'm in a small guild of friends and I'm working my way up to 80, and I'm just wondering what would be my best option for starting to tank the 5-mans with basically blues and greens and some crafted gear off the AH? None of us will be geared up so I don't know if I should go blood to try and take pressure off the healer or frost for extra mitigation or unholy to pick up adds with aoe.

I'm currently unholy for leveling, but I'm open for any tanking spec with dual spec.

Basically what spec is going to give a budding guild the best chance to succeed at normal difficulty 5-mans in Northrend?

Thanks!

Arkunsun
06-19-2009, 10:51 AM
I wouldn't say I'm an expert on DK tanking but every tree seems to be good enough for 5 man content.

I just started tanking on my Blood DK he's at 75 and I have just the crafted armor available to me (a mix of cobalt and tempered saronite.) I managed to tank UK, Nexxus, and AN on normal the other night without trouble. The healer complained of being bored on several fights.

Just make sure you are Def capped at 540 and have 26+K HP and you should do fine in Heroics with a good group.

Check here fro a good starting point on specs
http://www.tankspot.com/forums/f14/40694-death-knight-aoe-spec-mt-spec-rotations.html

Anaire
06-20-2009, 11:18 AM
From what people have told me can be summed up as "WTF Are you doing!?". I am an unholy tank, and ADORE it. More importantly, not all my points are in unholy. I'm sitting at 25/10/36
armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Galakrond&cn=Enzi&gn=Rejected+By+eHarmony)
Yes, I am frost dps. And yes, I am always being told that I am backwards.

ttocs
06-20-2009, 01:26 PM