PDA

View Full Version : Threat issues while moving bosses

Logos
06-17-2009, 12:56 PM
Hello fellow tankspot users :)
I have been tanking for a few months now and have quickly found solutions to most problems ive had..but one still remains-
the issue is that whenever im tanking bosses that have to be moved such as razorscale,ignis and such my threat plummets =/ i cant seem to "master" moving him and doing my rotation at the same time..a friend told me to use a macro maybe for 2-3 abilities so i can just click one button but im not sure about that..
so i was wondering if you had any suggestions and /or any similar issues yourself :)
Thank you in advance-

GalaMoridin
06-17-2009, 01:14 PM
I don't know if this will work for you but I have a key on my mouse set up to move backwards. I have two buttons on the side of my mouse. I use one for backward movement and the other for the vent PTT button. Before I set it up like that I had used the arrow keys for kiting a boss/mob. The mouse is nice because you can use the right click to steer while backing up.

Kerchunk
06-17-2009, 03:08 PM
Mastering heavy threat while moving is all about your control scheme and key bindings. You must set up, practice and eventually master a scheme that allows you easy access to all of your most important threat-generating abilities while still allowing you to move, turn and most importantly strafe.

Strafing is vital to movement-heavy tanking because it allows you to move at full run speed without turning away from the boss. Don't backpedal and never turn your back on a boss, instead, turn slightly to the side and strafe away at an angle.

Anyway, here's the scheme I use; it is by no means perfect but it does allow me a full range of motion while using all of my abilities:

qwer
asdf

1 = Devestate
2 = Shield Slam/ALT-2 Thunderclap
3 = Revenge
4 = Taunt/ALT-4 Challenging Shout
Q = Concussion Blow
W = forward/ALT-W Shield Block
E = Shockwave
R = Heroic Throw/ALT-R Disarm
A = strafe left