PDA

View Full Version : Mimiron Firefighter Spec (DK)

Krovacs
06-07-2009, 01:38 PM
I was put in an interesting situation last night, in which I was asked to tank the Mimiron Hard Mode encounter (Firefighter achievement) and I'm not really even a tank. I have a full tank set and I have a lot of Naxx tanking experience, but practically no tanking experience at all in Ulduar.

I decided for last night's attempts to go with an Unholy tank spec, because it seemed like that one offered the best magic mitigation. On our best attempts I managed to survive through 4 Plasma Beams, but it was pretty rough.

I was just wondering, for any DKs out there who have tanked Firefighter, what spec do you use? I was thinking if I ever have to do this again, I might try a Blood spec since that would give me the highest effective health.

I was sitting at about 42k HP fully raid buffed last night. My tank set isn't perfect (I'm normally a DPSer) but I think it is still pretty respectable. Depending on how events unfold, I might end up tanking a whole lot more. So anyway, I'm just looking for some general advice on the Firefighter fight in addition to spec advice.

Nunes
06-07-2009, 01:50 PM
Whenever I would do Sarth +drakes, I would spec Spell Deflection / Toughness / Rest in Unholy. I realize Spell Deflection is kinda bleh now, but you have a ~20% chance to take 45% less damage which will take Plasma Blast from like 50k dmg to 25k.

You can also have a Prot war spec into Safeguard (Reduces damage taken by the target of your Intervene ability by 30% for 6 sec.) for when your CDs are down on the 2-3 Blast.

Talent Calculator - World of Warcraft (http://www.wowhead.com/?talent#j0EG00hZ0xZfghc0c0LIVocouh)

That's roughly the spec you should be looking, can play around with the fillers, I just randomly picked things but you get the idea.

Krovacs
06-07-2009, 01:57 PM