PDA

View Full Version : Mechanics of Dark Command

darkpaladinzz
06-01-2009, 03:13 AM
Hey Guys, I am kind of new to the tanking business.
However, while discussing tanking with a friend of mine, he brought up that dark command has a chance to miss, I originally thought that taunts wont be able to miss and I was wondering if anyone can verify if indeed dark command will have a chance to miss while pulling mobs/bosses?

thanks in advance

Satorri
06-01-2009, 05:04 AM
Taunt (warriors), Growl (bears), Dark Command (DK's), and Hand of Reckoning (Paladins) are all essentially the same thing (though pallies get a little damage on theirs).

It makes your threat equal to the highest threat individual (his current target) and forces it to target you instead. They all use the spell hit cap (at 80: 4% vs 80, 5% vs 81, 6% vs 82, 17% against 83/Boss), and get corresponding benefits from 'spell hit' buffs.

As a DK if you are melee hit capped for specials (8%) you'll have about 10% and change + to hit on spells, and Imp FF or Misery from Boomkins or Spriests respectively will knock another 3% off. Virulence will buff this, as will glyph of Dark Command, not that I'd recommend using it. Also, at the melee hit cap you'll never miss if it isn't a raid boss, and the count of times you'll taunt a raid boss are pretty small. Personally, I've never recorded a miss on a taunt either, but it is possible. If it does miss, at least, it will not contribute to diminishing returns if you just taunt again.

Odok
06-01-2009, 02:46 PM
Taunt (warriors), Growl (bears), Dark Command (DK's), and Hand of Reckoning (Paladins) are all essentially the same thing (though pallies get a little damage on theirs).

It makes your threat equal to the highest threat individual (his current target) and forces it to target you instead. They all use the spell hit cap (at 80: 4% vs 80, 5% vs 81, 6% vs 82, 17% against 83/Boss), and get corresponding benefits from 'spell hit' buffs.