PDA

View Full Version : Dodge before DR

Soldmeout
05-28-2009, 04:04 AM
I need some help with my tanking gear and what not. I have been tanking for a few months now and I have been wondering what the Dodge percentage cap before DR is. I have look all over the place and only found formula's and what not (not a huge math fan).

Alternatively after asking that... I need to know if I am geared for tanking Ulduar 10... If I am am cool... if not, help me.

I also have a fealing that I am gemming wrong but thats just me.

The World of Warcraft Armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Garrosh&n=Soldmeout)

pnut14486
05-28-2009, 05:53 AM
im sure someone was asking this earlier but heres my answer to it.. u would be fine for 10man mabye, on the dodge VS stam thing well its a personnel choice but i done like u and stacked lots of agility to try it out.. it was nice but i lost nearly 6k hp for like 4% dodge an like 500 armor, was reading today and someone done some math that said unless ur clearing nearly 1200 agility the DR will still hit u hard so until ur hitting 1200 agility isnt worth stacking since u will loose more than u gain.

jus ma 2cents, iv started stacking stam again an let the extra come from gear an stuff

Astemus
05-28-2009, 09:38 AM
Dodge is always subject to diminishing returns. There is no magic point where it starts to diminish. The way it works without math is, you have 10% dodge, and get another 10% from gear, that will only allow you to dodge 10% more attacks than before, so 9% is what you would get after DR. Simply, you will always gain the same effective percent of dodge from gear. It was put in to keep people from getting to 100% dodge. At high dodge rates, lets say 80%, you get an additional 1% dodge, but it really would increase the amount of attacks you dodge by 5%. With DR, it would increase the amount you dodge by 1%, which is how the DR on dodge works now.