PDA

View Full Version : Four Tanks Side by Side.

Saltycracker
05-15-2009, 12:43 PM
Needs More Salt: Tanks Side by Side (http://randthotgen.blogspot.com/2009/05/tanks-side-by-side.html)

Re posting this and looking for input. What are the strengths and weaknesses of your tanking class?

I will break down each tank individually in time but I need to understand them first. I have a pretty good idea on Paladin and Warrior tanking and their pro's and con's. DKs and Druids I have very little knowledge about how a 3.1 tank works let alone the in's and outs.

I made a little chart weighing the strengths and weaknesses of the four classes in several catagories:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_z-_7E_aFHmY/Sg3yZ8okMHI/AAAAAAAAABA/LZTuUWROWfY/s320/Tanks.JPG (http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_z-_7E_aFHmY/Sg3yZ8okMHI/AAAAAAAAABA/LZTuUWROWfY/s1600-h/Tanks.JPG)

Damage Mitigation: The more damage you can avoid taking, the better it is for your healers, and you will stay alive longer. This is typically melee damage. Paladin's typically take the least damage overall with blocks and high armor. Druids and Warriors take similar amounts of incoming damage depending on the uptime of a druid's Savage Defense; Druids have higher armor, so I would assume their damage intake will be lower. DK's are made to be avoidance tanks, so they will get hit harder when attacks land as they typically have less armor than the other classes.

Total Health: The more health you have, the bigger hits you can take before you die. This stat is most useful for bosses who deal large blows very slowly. After 3.1 DK's and Druids got big HP nerfs but they still have the largest health pools of all the tanks. Paladins are next since their stam coefficient is higher than Warriors.