PDA

View Full Version : Professions for a raiding Palladin

Varranis
03-30-2009, 06:47 AM
Hi there, I am currently an Engineer/Enchanter, both are maxed.
However I am tempted to swap Engineering with Jewel Crafting,
as it offers more raiding benefits via Gems and such.
Leveling JC is not a problem, however I am having second thoughts and would like to have an outside opinion before i make a decision.
I am a Protection Palladin fyi :)

Ushebti
03-30-2009, 07:05 AM
jewelcrafting is better.
Engineering is more for the fun stuff - there is also a stam. trinket if i recall correct
but there is that too in JC + the better gems.

kolben
03-30-2009, 07:41 AM
To add to Ushbeti's comments.

Jewel Crafting seems to be the superior profession from several points of view. Not just min/maxing for it's own sake but for increased flexibility in meeting meta gem choices, and of course the ability to make money on your profession.

Blacksmithing has some nice looking items coming up in 3.1. I don't recall if they are BOP, if not then it shouldn't be a problem to find a blacksmith to make the things for you.

I've also taken a look at Inscription and Enchanting. Both are making serious money right now. I know a person who has payed for a handful of epic flyers off making Nobles cards. If you're anything like me, half-way through an expansion it becomes more important to me to have a large cache of raiding supplies and plenty of gold (so I don't have to slave away 10+ hours a week outside raids) than any net gains I'd get from a particular gem or whatever :)

Ushebti
03-30-2009, 07:47 AM
Inscription adds a bit more on the stats - though if you are exalted with Sons of the hodir,
it's only worth it for the money.

Plus Jewelcrafting/enchanting is really going to be the "money making" machine after 3.1 (People get new lewt.)

Hire
03-30-2009, 08:03 AM