PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on running partial PUG raids

Belak
03-03-2009, 10:39 AM
I'm an officer in a small guild. Most nights we have 12-15 raiders on. We've cleared all of the current 10-man bosses and started some hard-mode achievements, but now we're trying to expand into 25-man raids.

We did plenty of raiding in vanilla and TBC, but it was all internal to our previous guild. So what I'm looking for are any suggestions people may have on ways to smooth a "guild + PUG" raid.

How do you handle invites?
Are there any special addons you use that you don't normally need for a guild-only run?
What's the best way to handle all the whispers you get from interested people at other times?
What am I forgetting to ask?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Dranchor
03-03-2009, 09:16 PM
I've run quite a few PuG's to Magtheridon and Gruul at the end of TBC. They always incorporated a decent number of guildies, just because I knew they'd be the backbone of the raid. I knew they were decent people who would perform well, help me organize the raid and wouldn't whine.

Of course you first invite every guild member that wants to go to your raid (unless you end up with 6 tanks or something impossible that way) and get them on Ventrilo. You then indentify what's missing, and start advertising in chat channels. "Guildname's Naxx run LF 3 healers, 5 DPS, 1 tank" or something like that will probably get you drowned in whispers pretty soon. Ask for stats, or even better, check armory. The best is probably to have one of your trusted guildies do that for you. Take only what you need, but don't be too picky. PuG's will naturally decompose if you're not getting started soon.