PDA

View Full Version : I hate college

AxLxExX
02-23-2009, 09:29 AM
So I am currently a freshman at temple university in philadelphia. Temple claims to be one of the top 3 most connected universities in the nation (in terms of internet.)

Last tuesday at like 11 pm, I was playing wow and started experiencing god aweful latency issues. I'm talking like 1500-2000. So I stopped playing and got off my computer, thinking they were doing network maintenance or something. The next morning I hop on, same problem. I call tech support. We figure out that there is a problem (tech support is great huh?.) So later that day they send a guy out and he tells me it is NOT a problem with my computer.

Next day same problem. That day I made 4 calls to the tech support people until eventually they tell me that the people that could look at/fix the problem left for the day.

Next day: I call and the guy asks what time I would be available for someone to come out and look at my ports. I tell him 330.

4:00 rolls around and still no arrival, so I call back in. I kid you not, this is our conversation:

"Did they imply that someone was actually going to come out?" - him
"His exact words were: what time are you available for someone to come out?" - me
"So....where did he imply that someone was actually going to come out?" - him

So after 40 minutes of arguing, we get a guy to come out. He comes in with his doo-dad and tells me my ports are fine. He says my net will be monitered over the weekend and they'll tell me what hte problem is.

Weekend happens : internet was ok. I thought it might've been fixed

Sunday night, 7 PM - I hop on, latency of 10736 in WoW. Pinging google.com at 2500-3000.

So this morning I called the tech support people, and they told me it was no longer their problem. They gave me the number of the people who's problem it actually was.

I call them, and come to find that A.) They are not an internet maintenace group, B.) They have no idea who I am.