PDA

View Full Version : Good Sarth + 1 Drake strat?

halsten
01-29-2009, 08:24 PM
Greeting all.

Like some of you I have played wow ever sense release. I've played a priest pre BC and a rogue in BC. I started playing a tank in wotlk and figured I would hop on here to ask a question or two about the sarth encounter. The past 2 weeks our guild has tried 1 drake up and we haven't been successful. I want to be of more help to my guild as a tank. So any information would be nice.

Which of the drakes is easiest to have up with sarth?
What is a good strategy to complete it?

I've heard Vesperon is easy but, was fixed in last patch. Also Tenebron sounds easy but we have problems controling the adds.

Widdox
01-29-2009, 08:36 PM
The one in the back is the easiest. Its best to tank Sarth way over on the side of the island that is closest to the zone entrance. When the fire comes from the right (center opening) the tank can move into the lava toward the zone entrance and avoid it.

The drake will land about 30 seconds into the fight on the far side of the island (away from the zone entrance). It should be tanked where sarth usually stands with the tank avoiding the fire walls just like you normally avoid sarth fire walls. DO NOT enter the portal. Just OT the adds when they spawn and AE them down. DPS the drake first. AVOID THE PURPLE CIRCLES OF DEATH. It should only take your 2 waves of adds to get the drake down. Then the boss works like normal.

Put two healers on the MT. The rest of the healers will focus on the raid and the drake tank.

Thulldar
01-30-2009, 06:53 AM
Tenebron, in the back, is the easiest to leave up.

Your problems controlling the adds can be fixed by having a prot paladin or DK tank leave their AoE aggro skill (consecrate, death and decay) on the portal. The whelps always spawn there. Bring at least 2 good AOE DPS classes and assign them to AOE the whelps and elementals whenever whelps spawn.