PDA

View Full Version : 15/5/51 obsession

Astemus
01-09-2009, 07:14 AM
I've been reading tankspot for a while now, and for the most part, it's been a valuable tool for me. I like to read about people's theories on different things including specs, rotations, and other non standard things.

However, it seems that everyone is obsessed with this deep wounds build. Honestly, I'd like to see all these WWS where the 100-200 dps increase made the difference between a wipe and a kill, or talk to your healers and ask if you doing more damage helped them heal you better with despite the extra incoming damage.

I love alternative specs, but when people are telling new tanks and others asking for a standard tank spec that 15/5/51 is the standard and the only spec a warrior should be, it really annoys me.

Listen, your tanks. I know it's fun to do damage too, but a build that sacrifices mitigation at all for more damage isn't a standard tank build. I am far from an expert but Talent Calculator - World of Warcraft (http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=LVZhxZVItrx0zidIzsGo) is more like the standard tanking spec, leaving 4 points to put into either imp spell reflect, puncture, or imp HS.

I'm sure that ciderhelm is a great tank, but think for yourselves. And let's discuss! That's what makes this site great.

Astemus
01-09-2009, 07:15 AM
Hopefully this deep wounds nerf will throw people back into thinking about other fun specs.

Raptin
01-09-2009, 07:24 AM
Well, I agree to most of what you said. I started using a Deep Wounds build a few weeks ago and I like it alot. I'm not a real numberchruncher, nor a more than average tank, but when I first hit 80 I had some issues with keeping aggro from those who came from TBC with good gear since I was only in WOTLK quest greens and blues. But now as my gear is slightly better, keeping aggro is easier and dealing a bit more damage just seems like the right thing to do.

Satrina
01-09-2009, 07:31 AM