PDA

View Full Version : Questions concerning 5man viability

Kerith
12-11-2008, 01:29 PM
I'm currently gearing up my warrior with the intention of off tanking for my guild's paladin main tank. My question is, is prot a viable for me to be running with the paladin in 5man heroics?

This character has been prot since level 40(around the time 3.0 hit) and I've loved every minute of it. I ran as prot with our MT in UK as soon as Wrath hit and it seemed to go by smoothly. But if me being prot is either going to hamper or straight out kill the group then I'm not going to do that.

I don't mind respecing if necessary, but my current prot set far outclasses my dps set and thats not saying much.

Just looking for some input on this, as I would enjoy not having to respec to run with my friends. :)

maexio
12-11-2008, 01:37 PM
Kerith, I am by no means an expert, but :
Prot is a very good build for Soloing, tanking (obviously) and other items. You don't state if you've hit 80 yet (assumed atm), but some facts :

1. Prot Does good Damage Output, but it is not a DPS spec. There is a difference. If Prot could put out the same DPS as Arms or Fury, then the other trees would be far less viable (do to less survivability, movement (via Warbringer), and overall Crowd Control abilities)
2. Depending upon your groups makeup (ie, if the rest of your 'friends' are all rogues, etc.. ) more Dps may be necessary, or more CC may be necessary. I routinely run with Tank Spec feral druids, but they rarely switch to Bear form (except when i screw up, which is less rare than i would like).. So at the very least you will want your DPS set to be focused on Damage Output and not 'Effective Health', so you may find that while your Prot set is currently better, unless you are wearing all crafteds / non-unique equip pieces, you will likely need two sets anyways.

3. If you are not 'tanking', the extra Stamina, etc at the cost of DPS will just require more heals on the MT (due to slower DPS'ing down)..