PDA

View Full Version : Prot Spec Warrior New to raiding advice

Sennex
11-05-2008, 07:16 AM
The World of Warcraft Armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml;jsessionid=E83659F409F97B0EE299A0C9A1C0D 678.app06_02?r=durotan&n=Senno)

That is my armory listing and the gear is actually up to date for once. I am new to raiding, but have been silently trolling these forums and boards for a while now.

I tend to AE tank allot as, not sure if this is an efficient use of my talents and gear though. I know my gems could be better but I am not sure which ones to jump off on or if I should even wait for LK to come out (Currently I am saving for my Epic Flying mount, so I did skimp on gems).

Thanks ahead of time for the advice

Kainic
11-05-2008, 07:22 AM
First of all, go for 490 defense. This way you'll be crit inmune against lvl 73 mobs. This is mandatory for raiding.

Then, I would put 5 points in Deflection over Cruelty. I would fill Puncture although rage is not a major problem now. And I would go for Anticipation instead of Incite if you're new to tanking.

Sennex
11-05-2008, 07:39 AM
Okay, I will look into that, I basically took the 5-man/ Kara raid build that Cider posted here:
http://www.tankspot.com/forums/f64/40487-3-0-preparedness-your-tuesday-guide.html

Its been working well so far, but, I hate to say this, I have an issue with Keeping aggro off the Fury specced warriors in my guild. Granted most of them have been raiding for 3+ years now, and I have been told not to worry about it as their gear is a big factor in it all, but that just doesn't seem to me like a good answer. I would think that I could do a better job of keeping a mobs attention.

tcdgais
11-05-2008, 11:51 AM
your spec looks good. if you were experiencing some difficulties surviving heavy incoming damage, than more avoidance could be picked up by swapping points, but dont do that if its not needed.