PDA

View Full Version : First time OT for Kara

Jurusu
08-13-2008, 11:48 AM
This week will be my first experience as an off-tank for Kara. Normally I MT instances. I would appreciate any tip that you could give as to what I should focus on gear-wise as well as some tips on gameplay. What do I have to be aware of and how do I avoid stepping on the MT's toes? I know this is pretty open but any help would ease the butterflys.

Rhegma
08-25-2008, 02:31 PM
I am a rookie tank in general, and have been spending the last few weeks as my guilds OT in our Kara runs. We just started so most of us are still learning the place. Now that you see where I'm coming from, I usually carry a set of DPS gear and my tanking set. Considering, I'm still building my set, I gear almost entirely for health/armor.

During trash pulls, I keep my tanking set on but dual wield and dps as best I can, using devastate and heroic strike to try and stay above most of the dpsers on threat. (It's not easy with a few of them) I'll spend most of the fights keeping an eye on wandering mobs and the CC'd targets for anything that could cause trouble. Switch to shield, grab them and walk off to the side. Unless of course I am not a CCer myself. With not much CC in our group, me tanking something counts for a lot.

For bosses we have under control, or Aran. I switch to my dps gear and act like one of the other melees. On Moroes, I basically tank one of his adds for the entire fight, using him as a rage battery while I stay as close to the tanks threat as possible. Otherwise I stick close to the main tank and just keep an eye out for trouble.

Now, this might not be right, but it's what I do and it's been working for us so far.

Leytur
08-25-2008, 06:21 PM
There's really few places you really need to OT. So bring a full DPS set and go out full DPS except when MT tells you to get the tank set on.

Slobash
08-26-2008, 12:32 AM