PDA

View Full Version : Leading A Casual Guild Is Rough

Coro
07-09-2008, 06:04 AM
Hello all,

I just would like a moment to vent and ask for help, critisism is fine, just anything that can make things easier for me would be great.

First, let me introduce myself, because I have only posted a few times before. I have been playing MMO's since I was eleven years old, back in '99, playing EQ. I joined Wayfarers of Myth (one of the oldest guilds that is still around today) and followed the guild leader of WoM over to WoW. We met IRL last year, and I moved in with her, and we now lead the guild Sek Sea Pirates.

She has the "Guild Captain" tag on it, but anyone you ask, including her, will tell you that I lead the guild. I deal with promotions, guild drama, try and work with co-ops, do *literally* all the recruiting, lead all the raids, always put instances or pvps together....Do everything IMO what a good guild leader should do.

I love raiding, in fact, I kinda "hate the game" except for raids and instances. PVP drives me crazy (because I honestly suck at it), and leveling up alts makes me want to gouge my eyeballs out. My g/f however enjoys raiding, but enjoys playing alts more and questing and blah blah. With that said, we decided to start recruiting with the "Casual Raiding" tag (Raid 2 or 3 times a week....atm 2...) but really I'd like to push it as *real* raiding, I just have to word some things a few ways to keep her happy, you might know how that goes :p

Anyway, I always get a great group of 10 guildies to log in and do Kara. That group finally gets real geared out, and I'm also actively recruiting (in guild recruitment, rarely in Trade channel, through pugs, and on server/guild recruitment WoW threads). My guildies get geared, say "Awesome guild, but I don't see this guild progressing as quickly as I'd like it to" and leave.

I probably could have EASILY geared 40 people in full kara gear who have just up and left once they had everything to have.