PDA

View Full Version : Meta hat replacing ZA helm (Amani Desk Math)

GarrettJaxx
06-26-2008, 11:27 AM
Hi, I'd lose about 70 AP or so if I had got my S2 Glad's helm and popped in a meta gem with +3% crit damage. Now currently, my crit level is low, in favor of AP (2024 AP, 28.4% crit, 170 hit unbuffed).

if this dropped to (1950 AP, 29.5% crit, 150 hit) but with the +3% crit damage I'm thinking that'd be a significant increase in dps, ya? I don't have the math here, and I'm not good with it, but wondering if anyone has confirmation.

Tatt
06-26-2008, 01:06 PM
Ummm, math ain't my best subject, but...

If you are doing 1000 damage per swing at 2024 AP, then a crit is 2k

If you do 925 a swing at 1950, then a crit is 1850, plus 3% = 54ish extra damage, so 1900 or so.....

I think you are better off staying with Amani till you find a helm with as good a stats AND a Meta slot.

shiz98
06-26-2008, 06:47 PM
My gut says yes - that meta gem is definitely a great DPS item.

For the definitive answer, ask the EJ Spreadsheet. It excels at these sorts of comparison (no pun intended).

GarrettJaxx
06-27-2008, 08:36 AM
I don't know though shiz - tatt's logic above sort of makes sense to me. I mean, I may be getting 3% increase in dps, but I'd be giving alot more up of my damage up per swing with a reduction in AP.

Tatt
06-27-2008, 10:04 AM
Just power level engineering Garret.....goggles ftw :p

Prunetracy
06-27-2008, 11:00 AM
I don't know though shiz - tatt's logic above sort of makes sense to me. I mean, I may be getting 3% increase in dps, but I'd be giving alot more up of my damage up per swing with a reduction in AP.

70 ap is worth 5 white dps.
70 ap adds ~12 damage to instant attacks

It's not that big a dps change, and it doesn't scale with raidbuffs. 3% crit damage, however, does. The higher your AP, the more valuable the metagem will be, making it a clear choice for raids.