PDA

View Full Version : how do you rate your dps'ers ahead of time?

marklar
06-02-2008, 07:18 PM
hi,
i'm pretty new to heroics, but geared well enough to be there i think (here's me (http://armory.worldofwarcraft.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Exodar&n=Marklar)). my problem is i mostly PUG, and i'm not good at predicting the performance of my party, especially dps'ers. i've had some really bad runs, and i don't THINK it's me, so i try and look back at the run to figure out what happened. sorry if this is a little long...

scenario 1, my first heroic ever, and it's ramps. party is me, fury warrior, hunter, lock, pally. we wipe repeatedly before the first boss. i'm not losing any of my targets, but it seems like traps are only lasting 3-5 seconds and then loose mob is on the rampage in the backfield. on one of my corpse runs, i check recount - fury is tearing it up, but hunter and lock are at ~250dps each. warrior finally tells the other dps they got no business being there and the party disbands.

scenario 2, my second heroic in steamvaults. me, lock, fury, hunter, pally (all different ppl from the first). learning from my first experience, i do some inspecting - lots of purples this time. warrior is full PVP epics, and MS spec. lock has lots of heroic drops on, etc. we work our way up to the first boss pretty smoothly; i'm not losing agro on my main target, and not losing agro on any mobs to the healer. hunter is chain-trapping. we have one wipe due to being feared into another group, but not bad so far. then, the first boss, and it's a complete disaster. i'm holding the boss, but people are dying left and right, including me. i checked my death report, and i'm not dying from the storm, just melee. group finally disbands. i check recount: fury's at 325dps, hunter 450, and lock 650.