PDA

View Full Version : Defense caps?

Creampuf
05-13-2008, 06:45 AM
I'm new to the level 70 tanking world as well as this forum, and I'm really impressed with all the info here. It'll take me forever to digest it all, but I'm trying!

I've always been prot spec'ed except for a comical foray into arena and pvp instance play. I quickly figured out that that isn't for me.

Anyway, I have a question. I know that the magic number, right now, for defense is 490, which I've hit. But I see a large number of profiles with defenses well above that value.

Now, I imagine that much of that comes simply because better tank gear has higher bonuses. But I also notice that often these same profiles have +def enchants on them.

So my question is this: is there value in having a defense above 490, and how do I compare those increases with other potential tank-supporting bonuses?

If I have 500 defense, for example, would I be better off with a gem that does +4 def and +6 stam or one that does +4 str and +6 stam? (I'm assuming stamina is always preferable as my understanding is that it scales with armor and is therefore always good provided def is at least 490).

Thanks for any help!

Muggs
05-13-2008, 06:57 AM
Hi Cream,

490 defense is the magic number to make you crit immune vs. all mobs in the game, including bosses. Going above 490 is not a bad thing, defense is the second best avoidance stat after pure dodge rating (as is increases your dodge, parry, and chance to be missed all at once). As for socketing, you would want to put +12 stam gems in exclusively (a few exceptions) to maximize your health pool after you reach the 490 def mark.

Darraxus
05-13-2008, 06:59 AM
490 is the minimum to not be critted by a boss mob. Anything above 490 continues to add to your avoidance stats. Once you hit the 490 cap, I think most tanks start stacking 12 stam gems in their gear.

Creampuf
05-13-2008, 07:04 AM