PDA

View Full Version : Different Tanks.

Dragonlgnd
04-11-2008, 03:04 PM
This is my very first time posting and I'm new, so I don't know if this has been covered somewhere else. I've been looking for this information for sometime though and hope everyone here can help.

My guild only uses Prot warriors for raid bosses. The only 2 exceptions were Leo, and FLK once when our Prot warriors couldn't make it that night. They loved prot pallies when we hit Leo, but now we are just "great" trash tanks.

I made a post on our forums about how it would be good to have different types of tanks tank different bosses, since certain tanks work better VS different tanks. Pretty the overall response was they didn't think this was a good idea.

I was under the impression that in BC Blizzard made certain bosses better for certain tanks, this way they made them all valuable.

My question is, is this true? or is a Prot warrior the best tank for all? and what "types" of bosses would feral druids, or Prot pallies, or Prot warriors be better for? ( Fast swinging, or slow, so on and so on.)

brain9h
04-11-2008, 03:57 PM
Most of my time raiding is spent in thrash mobs, and paladins and druids excel in that.

For bosses, if you have 3 equally skilled and geared tanks, a warrior, a druid and a pally, most of the time the warrior will be the choice to tank the toughest mob, because of the panic buttons.

Otherwise just use your guilds best player, whatever the class.

AlmtyBob
04-11-2008, 04:04 PM
It isn't so much that BC made pallies and druids viable for tanking end game progression raid bosses so much as BC made them viable for tanking period. Pre-BC wasn't a good era for tanking paladins and druids. In my progression level (3/4 5/6 + rage in MH) I haven't met a boss where I thought it would be a lot better to have a pally or druid MT. We once tried Tidewalker with a druid and it was a gib-tastic disaster. The one exception might be a paladin for a Leo.