PDA

View Full Version : DPS with a Protection Warrior

Futeko
04-07-2008, 04:58 AM
Good day,

I recently hit Lv70 with my warrior and began raiding with my guild. As I'm fairly new at tanking in a raid environment, I play as an off-tank for the majority of the fights. This means that I often find myself having to DPS a boss.

However, I've never, ever DPSed with my warrior. I've leveled from Lv1 to Lv70 with a sword and a shield, protection specced, and I know I can't pull a decent DPS with a sword/shield as weapons.

I've gathered some information about DPSing with a protection warrior, although I've found no "full" guide on the topic. Since this place is the best source of tanking knowledge I know, I'd like to hear your opinion about what I've gathered so far.

- Weapons : Two slow weapons ; preferably two of the same speed, if not then put the slowest in MH.
- Hit : At least 143 hit rating (+9%) in order not to miss any yellow attack
- Gemming/Enchant/Gear : +Str > +AP > +Crit ; Executioner on MH, Potency on OH
- DPS Cycle : Spam Devastate, use Heroic Strike if more than 20-30 rage, use Bloodrage whenever it is available, use but Execute when available.

Thank you in advance for your feedback :)

Ukyo
04-07-2008, 05:42 AM
That's pretty much it. In case you need to get some weapons, S1 weapons are really good for DPS as Prot, they're not that expensive and they're easily replaceable in case you get an upgrade (DW Potency should be enough, later you might want to upgrade to MH Executioner).

You can use Slow/Fast combo and start spamming devastate, but you need to remember to use it AFTER the tank gets the mob, since you're still generating more threat than your average DPS'er

Derrick
04-07-2008, 09:13 AM
I thought WW was a better rage dump than HS. I can't back that up though. Didn't someone theorycraft this? But if you're rotation is Dev/HS, then what difference does it make what speed your weapons are?

Artos
04-07-2008, 09:15 AM