PDA

View Full Version : Off Tank Gearing Questions

Lavache
09-25-2007, 08:48 AM
when i am setting up off tank positions in 25man content, i am never sure how to tell them to gear up. for instance - the trash around lurker that requires 3-4 tanks - should the dps warriors toss on 490def gear and a shield to tank, or just roll in their dps gear with a shield?

in terms of raid make up it varies depending on who is online but we generally have:

2 protection warriors
2-3 DPS warriors
2-3 Bears
1-2 Prot Pallies

we are slowly moving into 25man stuff, and i am pretty new to raid leading / setting up tanks beyond 10man content.

Mesh
09-25-2007, 09:42 AM
I'd go for tanking gear. Sure, those mobs don't hit that hard, but on the other hand if you are starting the instance you will still have to learn the trash pulls. Which means that sometimes people will die. You don't know, how hard some mobs will hit. Some of them hit pretty hard. Also its handy if your offtank can pick up an additional mob if something goes wrong (tank one of the harder hitting mobs).
But if you have prot paladins or ferals ready, let them tank. You won't need their heals and a DPS warrior does less threat than a feral while doing at least his DPS (at least in my experience).

Marle
09-25-2007, 07:01 PM
I'd go for full-on tanking gear, but ask for 490 def and a shield at least. The mobs may not hit that hard, but a crit is still going to hurt.

If you're going to ask DPS ferals or warriors to tank, it's nice have them on the first mobs. Once their target is dead, they can help with DPS on the other mobs. Ferals are especially good at this since they have pretty high threat in bear and good damage when switching to cat without needing a full gear swap. DPS warriors (in my experience, at least) tend to need a little bit longer to build a threat lead, so they'll often take the second target (unless a Misdirection is handy or their tanking gear especially sucks).