PDA

View Full Version : Main tank dilemma

vorp
09-17-2007, 08:31 AM
Hey folks. Hope this is the right forum for this post.

Was hoping you could help me out with a little dilemma Iím having.

Background: Iím an assistant GM of a casual guild that is about to go into its first attempt at Kara, and a first raid attempt period. I have very little pre TBC raiding experience but more than 95% of our guildies. We are a solid group of friends, with varying gear levels and playing abilities.

My main character had been a mage, and I think I know that class very well. As my guild lacked a solid tank, I quickly leveled my gnome warrior up to 70, and have him geared up with the best blues I can grab from 5 man regular instances. I think my biggest weakness in tanking is my threat generation, and I am working on my smithing to get a high dps weapon (fireguard).

Recently, another 70 protection warrior rejoined the guild (Iím not entirely sure exactly why he left). He has armor smithing maxed and has many purple BoP crafted armor pieces. He clearly has better stam and mitigation than I do. The other officers have insisted that I will still be Main Tank and raidleader for our Kara next Monday. However, I feel that once they see that his ďoff-tankingĒ is better than my ďmain-tankingĒ, I think they will want to reverse our roles.

I may be being a bit childish about this whole thing, but itís frustrating in general. My main was my mage, which I really enjoyed and still enjoy playing. I really like my guildies and wanted to be able to walk through instances to get them ready for Kara. So I dropped leveling a rogue and got my warrior up to 70 in a hurry. Honestly, I enjoy being a tank moreso than my mage now, and so having this prot warrior with better gear than I do is driving me nuts. I *want* to be main tank.